Awards Program

The 2012 USGIF Awards Program is now CLOSED. Winners will be announced at the GEOINT 2012 Symposium.

The USGIF Awards Program annually recognizes the exceptional work of the geospatial intelligence tradecraft’s brightest minds.

Anyone involved with the geospatial intelligence community may apply and/or nominate someone or a team for an award.

Highlighting the achievements of those within the community not only recognizes those who deserve it, but also boosts morale, inspires the community, and increases interest in the field.

You may apply or nominate someone based on the four categories below. The nomination form is found under each category.


1. The Geospatial Intelligence Achievement Award recognize outstanding accomplishments in the tradecraft by an individual or team from the military, government and industry sectors.

Industry Achievement

Military Achievement

Government Achievement

2. The Geospatial Administrative/Support Award recognize outstanding administrative or support accomplishments in the tradecraft by an individual or team from the military, government and industry sectors.

Administrative or Support Achievement

3. The Academic Achievement Award commends the achievements of a top graduate of a nationally recognized geospatial intelligence academic program.

Academic Achievement

4. The Academic Research Award commends an organization that demonstrates the top geospatial intelligence program or project.

Academic Research

Those selected for these awards receive free registration to the GEOINT 2012 Symposium where their achievements are acknowledged on stage during the general session, in the program guide, on our multiple websites, and in press releases and news articles.

Previous USGIF Award Program Winners

The Arthur C. Lundahl Lifetime Achievement Award is presented, upon nomination and vote by the USGIF board, to an influential member of the geospatial intelligence community who has dedicated much of his or her work to the trade craft.

Lifetime Achievement Award
2011 – LTG Paul E. Menoher
2010 – Mr. Jack Dangermond
2009 – Mr. Charles E. Allen
2008 – Mr. R. Evans Hineman
2007 – The Honorable James R. Clapper Jr.
2006 – The HonorableJeffrey K. Harris
2005 – Mr. William R. Allder Jr.
2004 – Dr. Leo Hazlewood

Academic Achievement Award
2011 – COL Michael D. Hendricks
2010 – Ms. Donna Bridges, Penn State University
2009 – Mr. Andrew Schaeffer
2008 – Sgt. Eric S. Patwell, 26th MEU
2007 – Ms. Gabriella Farris, GITP
2006 – Mr. Keith Luter, GITP
2005 – Mr. John Gutraj, GITP

Research Achievement Award
2011 – Albert Yu-Min Lin, Ph.D.
2010 – Dr. Dennis J. Bellafiore, Senior Lecturer, Department of Geography, John A. Dutton e-Education Institute, Penn State University
2009 – Imagery Exploitation Course Team, National Geospatial-Intelligence Foundation
2008 – Capt. Robert Johnson, U.S. Air Force Officer, National Air and Space Intelligence Center’s GEOIN/MASINT Analysis Squadron
2007 – Dr. Swen Johnson, Socio-Cultural Intelligence Analysis Inc.
2006 – Mr. Scott Tabor, University of Redlands
2005 – Ms. Dorota Grejner-Brzezinski, Ohio State University Satellite Positioning and Inertial Navigation Lab

Government Achievement Award
2011 – Kevin Slocum, NGA InnoVision LIDAR Team
2010 – U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP) Enterprise GIS team (eGIS), Department of Homeland Security
2009 – Integrated Collection Management (ICM) Program Team
2008 – Open Source Center Address Finder Team
2007 – Space and Naval Systems Warfare Command C4I Support Team
2006 – The 5th Engineer Detachment, 29th Engineer Battalion, 8th Theater Sustainment Command
2005 – NGA Afghanistan/Pakistan Border Project Team

Military Achievement Award
2011 – Justin Novak, U.S. Army Space & Missile Defense Command
2010 – Human Terrain Analysis Branch, U.S. Central Command
2009 – Eagle Express Production Team
2008 – Mr. Ray Caputo, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers
2007 – Ms. Pamela McCue, DIA Missile Intelligence Space Center
2006 – U.S. Army ERDC Topographic Engineering Center’s Buckeye Team
2005 – Captain Chip Carr, NGA

Industry Achievement Award
2011 – Gorgon Stare Industry Team, Sierra Nevada Corp.
2010 – Mr. Steve Panzer and Mr. David Hemphill, ObjectFx
2009 – Geospatial Engineers, Google Federal Team, Google Inc.
2008 – Mr. Christopher Jengo, ITT
2007 – Mr. Matt O’Connell, GeoEye
2006 – Mr. Wes Hildebrandt, SPADAC
2005 – Mr. Mark Ingersoll and Mr. Todd Ham, Harris Corp.